No items found.

Aged Care Quality Standard 4: Services and supports for daily living

training industry - top 20 companytraining industry - top 20 companyWatch list company 2023
course library users
Aged Care Quality Standard 4: Services and supports for daily living
This course is in the base subscription pack
Health, Disability and Aged Care
Course Duration
Subject Matter Expert
Melissa Sinfield - RN BHSc (Nursing) (Hons 1st class) PhD MACN
Kineo Courses
ESG Course
No items found.
The Australian Primary Health Care Nurses Association (APNA)
This activity has been endorsed by APNA according to approved quality standards criteria. Completion of these educational activities entitles eligible participants to claim 35 CPD minutes.

This course has been developed to provide learners with an understanding of the requirements of ACQS 4: Services and supports for daily living.

Target Audience

Standard 4: Services and Supports for Daily Living focusses on how providing services and supports for daily living improves the lives of consumers living in residential services and is aimed at leaders, managers and other staff members responsible for the delivery of care and services to consumers receiving residential aged care and home care services.

The goal of this course is to teach learners what Standard 4 means for consumers: They get the services and supports for their daily living that is important for their health and well-being, and that enables them to do the things they want to do. This support can come in a variety of ways, from helping consumers with cooking and cleaning or helping them take part in social activities.

Government funded aged care providers are expected to comply with each of the Aged Care Quality Standards. The standards reflect the level of care and services the community expects from aged care providers.

Aged care consumers are, above all, individuals in every sense of the word who have the right to be treated with dignity and respect.

Learning Outcomes

This course focusses on the following learning outcomes:

  • Each consumer gets safe and effective services and supports for daily living
  • Services and supports for daily living promote emotional, spiritual and psychological well being
  • Services and supports for daily living assist each consumer to participate in their community both in and out of the service environment; have social and personal relationships; and do the things that interest them
  • Information about the consumer's condition, needs and preferences is communicated within the organisation and others where responsibility is shared
  • Referrals are timely and appropriate
  • Where meals are provided, they are varied and of suitable quality and quantity, and
  • Where equipment is provided, it is safe, suitable, clean and well maintained.

Contextualised Content

Aged care quality standards, quality standards aged care, acqs, 8 new aged care quality standards, aged care quality standards fact sheet, aged care quality standards poster, aged care quality standards training, single quality framework, quality and safety commission, Australian aged care quality and safety commission, aged care quality standards learning program, safe and quality care and services, consumer outcomes, the rights of older Australians living in residential care, residential and home care providers